Literacy Champions


The Mass Literacy Champions Awards Program recognizes and supports outstanding literacy providers, their practices and their programs.


Coming Soon – Mass Literacy Champions Call for Nominations

This October, Mass Literacy will be calling for nominations for the 2018 Mass Literacy Champion Awards. The program recognizes and rewards outstanding Massachusetts literacy providers who have made significant contributions to literacy education. Applications will be accepted from Oct 1, 2017 through October 31, 2017. Winners will be announced in December 2017. Check back later to download the application.

Up to five award recipients will be selected. Each recipient will receive:

  • A $1000 grant for program development
  • A professionally produced video to promote their organization valued at $1000
  • Statewide recognition as a Mass Literacy Champion
  • Visibility and recognition in the media
  • Publishing opportunities
  • The opportunity to serve as an adviser to Mass Literacy

About the Mass Literacy Champions Awards

The Mass Literacy Champions Awards program was created in 2002 by Mass Literacy to identify, publicly recognize and support individuals who have shown exceptional commitment and results through their work in literacy education. The Champions represent the entire state of Massachusetts and the many fields of literacy education. Each has shown exceptional commitment and results through their work. 76 Mass Literacy Champions have been recognized since 2003, and together they represent the diverse literacy community that makes Massachusetts a national leader in education.

What we look for in a Champion:
A Mass Literacy Champion is ….

  • a professional practitioner currently active in the literacy education field
  • someone currently involved in the creation and implementation of unique and promising literacy practices
  • someone who has made a significant contribution in any of the many areas of literacy education
  • someone willing to share their best practices and work with their peers throughout the state
  • someone who is innovative and creative in their field
  • someone with outstanding leadership qualities

Learn more about our 2016 Mass Literacy Champions and watch their video profiles here.